I Hate ESPN

I really hate ESPN.  They are completely destroying college athletics with this conference realignment as schools seek better TV deals.  I believe they have more control over this whole thing than many people think.  I believe they are pushing for fewer conferences where only the big BCS schools will be able to compete.

The sad thing about all of this is that it is all driven by college football.  For those of us that are huge college basketball fans, basketball is an afterthought.  How can people get excited about Rutgers and Nebraska or Maryland and Iowa?  It really doesn’t matter, it only matters that each of the networks can get their subscriptions pushed upon cable subscribers as these conferences expand their geographic footprint.

Now, we are getting ready to see the demise of the ACC – even though each of the school representatives are in denial, you know there is a lot of lying going on as these schools are talking to other conferences.  We’ve already seen the demise of the Big East – now basketball schools like Georgetown and Villanova are going to be playing the likes of Tulane and SMU instead of Syracuse and Notre Dame.

I’ve thought of boycotting ESPN, but as I look at how much influence ESPN has upon my life – I go to their website everyday, I subscribe to their magazine, I watch games on it all the time.  I just don’t think there is a way to be a college sports fan without ESPN.  Thank you ESPN for destroying everything.

9 responses to “I Hate ESPN

  1. Look at what ESPN has managed to do…

    1) They made a news show about sports utterly unwatchable
    2) They made a show about baseball completely unwatchable to me, and I am one o the biggest baseball fans on the planet.
    3) They foisted Colin Cowherd, Skip Bayless, and Stephen A. Smith on us.

    Anyone care to add to this list?

  2. Disconnect yourself from ESPN my friend. There are plenty of other avenues out there to get your sporting news from…yahoo, cbs, podcasts, regional papers, etc. You’ll be a happier man!

Leave a comment